After Rejecting Alternitives

I need to have a rant.
I won’t even begin my setences by saying “I’m sorry…” or “I apologise if…”, I really do not have anything to apologise for if it is how I feel.

So, apparently the Catholic Church has told women not to be so picky when it comes to choosing a male and to get married earlier because there is a man drought. Read the article here.
While it could be correct that women are choosing to marry and settle down later in life I wouldn’t argee with what the church is advocating. According to statistics provided by church officials and the Herald Sun there is only 86,000 “Mr Rights” for 1.3 million women aged between 25 and 34.

“Only 86,000 single, heterosexual, well-off, young men were available after excluding those who were already married (485,000), in a de facto relationship (185,000), gay (7000), a single parent (12,000) or earning less than $60,000 a year.”

According to this statistic earning under a certain quota and/or being a single parent would constitute as being labelled a “Mr Wrong”. So does that mean that all of the women who are childless and earn over a certain quota are considered “Mrs Right” too?
“Sorry babe, we can’t get married, the church says that you have to be earning more money…”
“It’s ok, I can’t marry you because you are a single mother anyway!”

Further more, what about those 1.3 women… Did the statistics rule out gay women, married women, women in de facto relationships, gay women? What about the small but very real demographic of people who have no sexual orientation?

No person, male, female or indifferent should ever settle for someone that they are unhappy with. What is the point settling with someone just because there is apparently a “man drought”? Thats like saying “I’m going to buy this carton of full cream milk because there is a milk shortage even though I hate full cream milk!” or “I find Bonds underwear uncomfortable but I’m still going to stock up on some undies because the company is going into liquidation!”.
If you are unhappy you are more likely to waste a whole lot of money and end the marriage in the future anyway.

I don’t think women are too picky, I think they are often not picky enough! Women around Australia are married to men that they are unhappy with, these women are the ones that need to be more picky. In saying this, it applies to men as well. Men are less picky and stay with women that they are unhappy with or when they acknowledge that she might not be “the one”.

I’m not sure what authority the Catholic Church has to guide, inform or suggest that women should be less picky when it comes to marriage.
I’m not sure what authority the Catholic Church seems to have on many women’s issues for that matter.
Regardless, I won’t be taking the advice and I would urge other women and men alike to do the same.

Leave a Reply

